History of SEERC

The South East European Regional Council of CIGRE (SEERC) is the fourth World Region of Cigre and was established on 13th of May 2013 in the small Adriatic town Miločer in Montenegro, at a meeting in the hotel Maestral Resort & Casino. In presence of the President of Cigre, Prof. Klaus Fröhlich, and Secretary General of Cigre, Francoise Meslier, representatives from nine National Committees of Cigre (Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Italy, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Ukraine) signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), the legal document enabling the start of operation. Kresimir Bakic, current chair of the Slovenian NC Cigre, was elected to be the first chairperson of SEERC. Three Cigre National Committees (Austria, Greece and Hungary) sent supporting letters for establishing the new Cigre Region and promised to sign the MoU in the coming period. At the next Administrative Council of Cigre, on 25th of September 2013 in Kazan (Russia), this initiative was officially approved as the fourth Region of Cigre. Thus, all official requirements were fulfilled for operation of the new global Cigre Region named SEERC.

A more detailed history is currently in work, please find the draft here: HISTORY OF SEERC briefly draft